Waltz's gold.

Discuss information about the Lost Dutchman Mine
Tulare

Waltz's gold.

Post by Tulare »

I have been reading this forum for a while now and have been impressed with the questions and answers. I went back and read all of the old posts and have to say this forum has a lot of good information and ideas. I work in the mining business and was drawn to the subject of Waltz's gold. I understand gold from Waltz's death was made in jewelry and some sample of the ore in it's original form still exists. I was most intrested in the work that T.E.Glover did on the ore comprason of Waltz's gold and several mine samples as well as other gold samples taken in Arizona. I read Mr. Glovers book The Lost Dutchman Mine of Jacob Waltz Part I The Golden Dream, and the chapter on his ore testing. In his book Mr. Glover states the gold from Waltz death was assayed and the assayer said the gold had not come from any source he had ever seen.
An assay of gold for sale in 1890 would not cover all the minerology of the gold being assayed. It would cover the purity, and value based on its ratio of gold to quartz matrix. If enough waste rock was present with the gold the assayer would in most cases identify the type of deposit the gold formed in.
In the case of Waltz's gold this would be most important. My questions to this forum and Mr. Glover is, did this assay report survive and if it did, where is it today? Mr. Glover did a remarkable job with his ore testing as written in his book. The results he published were fairly generic tho. A little bit about the type of quartz and a comparison of Waltz gold to the other samples similarity to minerals, matrix and inclusion.
I would be interested in the mineral content of the Waltz death gold and if Mr. Glover determined what specific type of gold deposit Waltz's gold came from.