metal detectors??

Discuss information about the Lost Dutchman Mine
woodreau71
Greenhorn

metal detectors??

Post by woodreau71 »

Hello to all,
I have been contemplating buying a metal detector for several months, but after researching the web and reading about the various name brands I am afraid I'm still lost. While each brand has so much to choose from at just about any price range, knowing what to purchase is still a problem.
Finally one night it hit me. There is probably no one more knowlegable on this subject than Dutchman Hunters.
I am looking for a good all around detector. I have been leaning tward a Whites or a Garrett. Any thoughts??
Thanks in advance and I apologize for posting on this particular forum since it doesnt exactly partain to the listed subject, but it is the only forum I really visit.
:)
Woodreau71
Scoots
Greenhorn

metal detectors??

Post by Scoots »

Hello woodreau,

I recently purchased a used metal detector, its primary purpose is prospecting - not coin shooting. If you want an "all around" type of detector you have to understand that there are trade offs for the "all around" features. Prospecting types of detectors are not the best for coin shooting or relic hunting.

I am posting a link for prospecting types of detectors here for you to check out:

http://bb.bbboy.net/alaskagoldforum-vie ... thread=349

I hope this will help you with your decision.

Ron
There's another loose screw in the nut factory!
Roger
Part Timer

Metal Detector Suggestions

Post by Roger »

Woodreau,

Based on my experience in owning a number of metal detectors since 1976 when I bought my first machine - a Bounty Hunter. I would recomment that you stick with either a White's Electronics or Garrett metal detector. The model you pick would depend on what types of items you plan to hunt for and in what type of soils plus how much you want to spend. Here are a couple of suggestions on White's detectors and you can explore their web sites for more models: