Lost Peraltas Mine and diggings

Discuss information about the Lost Dutchman Mine
loray12

Lost Peraltas Mine and diggings

Post by loray12 »

I was a police officer in Phoenix from 1958 to 1962. During that time I became a friend of George Rodriquez. He was 62 at the time. He took me to a mine on the back side of a mountain near Fish Creek on the Apache trail. We spend several years exploring that mine along with several others in the area.
George had been prospecting for many years and knew his way around this area and the Four Peaks area.
We actually filed a claim and named it the Escadino. It obviously was an old spanish working because of the shape. It resembled a bell at the opening and went back about 50 ft. into the top of the mountain. There were no timbers used and the height at the front was about 8 feet and tapered off the deeper you went. It was impossible to see the workings from the trail because it was on the backside of the mountain and the mountain resembled a sombero. There was also signs where the spanish had followed the vein from the dry wash leading from the trail to the canyon leading to the mine. You could also see were they cut into the side of the mountain working up to the mine opening.
At the apex or top of the bell was a quartz vein about 4 in wide. There was also another working further along side the mountain about 50 yrs from this mine that appeared to have somewhat caved in. It was more like a stope working straight up. Tailings were obvious at both locations and we found parts of reed baskets that were not from this area at all.
I moved back east in August of 1962 and I doubt if anyone else has been to the location because George was rather sick when I left.
I always wanted to get back to this area because it was obviously a spanish workings of some type but I now live in Florida and just never made it back to the area.