Travis Tumlinson and the Stone Maps

Discuss information about the Lost Dutchman Mine
novice
Expert

Travis Tumlinson and the Stone Maps

Post by novice »

My wife and I have been researching the history of the stone maps for over five years and there comes a point when it seems prudent to go ahead and share what we have found. There will always be another lead to run down or another piece of evidence to collect and document. The research has been both fun and sad, exhilarating and frustrating. We have met and dealt with some wonderful people. We have traveled to Hood River, Oregon, Wenatchee, Washington, Portland, Oregon, Austin, Texas, and of course the areas in Texas where the families of Travis and his wife Alleen called home, while trying to piece together the history of the stone maps and the personalities involved. We have visited with Travis and Alleen’s daughter Janie in her home and also have met other family members.

It is not my intention to try and convince anyone of anything. I just want to present some of what we have found, what we have seen and what we have been told. I hope that it doesn’t become a case of “kill the messengers”. I will try to frame the story with a minimum of speculation and if speculation does become necessary, I will try to make sure that those thoughts are clearly identified.

The short version of the story is that we were told by the family members with whom we spoke, that Travis Tumlinson carved the stone maps.

I suppose that would be the end of the story for many but that would ignore the legend and history of the stone maps that has captivated so many. I have no doubt that many will dismiss the family’s assertions, saying they are at the very least mistaken. There are some additional physical items which, I believe, tend to lend weight to the family’s story and I will address those a bit further on.

The tablets may not lead to treasure but their story, for me, is still every bit as compelling.